Tags

,

The love affair between books and I goes way back. One of my favourite birthday presents ever was when I got a collection of folk stories from my grandparents. It consisted of 6 white books with thick covers filled with amazing illustration accompanying every story. On every book my grandparents wrote two, three sentences about “life wisdoms” and till this day those sentences bring smile to my face whenever I read them. You can blame them for turning me into a bookworm I am today… 🙂

So, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to read more (I kind of neglected reading in 2011 and didn’t like that one bit). And since I have my mater thesis to write I had a cunning plan (which failed miserably at the end). Ever since Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson was published, I was dying to read it. But… the books are huge – in total 1897 pages (yes – I summed them up). My cunning plan was to write my master thesis during day and then “as I reward” I would read before bedtime. I was counting on having a monthly “stash” of good read due to the 1897 pages. Right? Well… I definitely picked wrong books for this cunning plan of mine… Cause anyone who started to read the Millennium trilogy (The Girl With The Dragon TattooThe Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest) knows one fact I as well know now: once you start reading, you can’t stop. Your life starts to form around them. You read them while you eat your lunch, you carry them wherever you go (and they are heavy), your eyes are falling asleep but your mind is begging for just one more page, just one more chapter… And when you finish them off, you sit back and you want more. These books are mind-blowing. I have never read anything as good and as intriguing as this. So, if you haven’t read them yet, what are you waiting for?!

