Tags

, ,

#99. Learn how to cook beans with sausages

You know that feeling when you hear a song on a radio and you instantly remember who you were with and what were you doing and what were you feeling when that song got tattooed to your brain forever? Besides music, certain food has the same effect on me. The second I taste beans with sausages, I’m transported to a time without worries or stress. A time when I’m six again and I’m with my grandparents during winter holidays. My granddad and I are outside on the snow making snowman/sledging down a hill/making imprints in snow till we can’t feel our hands any more (regardless the fact we are wearing gloves) and we have to go inside. Or we risk our noses falling off. And inside, my grandma is preparing beans with sausages and the whole house is bathing in that strong aroma…

I’ve always wanted to learn how to prepare beans with sausages but I never trusted myself being able to prepare it as good as my grandma. So I postponed it. Over and over again. And yesterday I decided not to postpone it a day longer. Today was “B&S” day (beans with sausages day) and guess what? It didn’t taste as good as my grandma’s (duh) but it wasn’t bad. Not bad at all.

